Compliance Verification Activity Report: CV2223-272 - Minell Pipeline Limited

Overview

Compliance verification activity type: Field Inspection

Activity #: CV2223-272
Start date: 2022-10-03
End date: 2022-10-07

Team:

Regulated company: Minell Pipeline Limited

Operating company: Manitoba Hydro

Province(s) / Territory(s):

Discipline(s):

Related events:

Rationale and scope:

To follow-up on the company's IR responses (from CV2122-331) regarding its safe excavation procedure, including the process for dealing with unknown or abandoned facilities upon discovery and clarify the locate request process post-incident. 

Compliance tool(s) used:

Facility details

Facilities:

Regulatory requirements

Regulatory requirements that apply to this activity:

Information Request

IR from CER (Information Request sent from CER to company)
Field IR - questions from the field

Legislative Requirement : Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR) 2020-03-16

Sections of the Act

  • Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR) 2020-03-16
    • 47.2 A company shall develop, implement and maintain a damage prevention program that anticipates, prevents, manages and mitigates damage to its pipeline and meets the requirements set out in section 16 of the Canadian Energy Regulator Pipeline Damage Prevention Regulations — Obligations of Pipeline Companies.

Theme and Categories

Damage Prevention
  • Vehicle or Mobile Equipment Crossings
    • Authorization and Consent
    • Temporary Crossings
  • Ground Disturbance
    • Guidelines

Due Date : 2022-10-13

Review Response
Unacceptable

Follow-up Action
Issue Non-Compliance

IR from CER (Information Request sent from CER to company)
Pre-Inspection Request for Documents

Legislative Requirement : Canadian Energy Regulator Act (CERA)

Sections of the Act

  • Canadian Energy Regulator Act (CERA)
    • Administration and Enforcement
      • Powers on entry<br />103 (2) The inspection officer may, for that purpose,

Theme and Categories

Damage Prevention
  • Damage Prevention Program
    • Processes and Standards
    • Manage and Mitigate
  • Locates and Information
    • Locate Requests
  • Ground Disturbance
    • Authorization and Consent

Due Date : 2022-09-28

Review Response
Acceptable

Follow-up Action
None

Observations (no outstanding follow-up required)

Observation 1 - General Observations - Minell Pipeline Remediation Work (Lowering)

Date & time of visit: 2022-10-12 08:30

Discipline: Damage Prevention

Categories:

Facility:

Observations:

CER Inspection Officers (CER IOs) accompanied Manitoba Hydro (Minell) representatives to conduct a field inspection of the remediation work (lowering) on the Minell Natural Gas Pipeline (Minell pipeline) performed by the company's contractor. The following was observed by CER IOs at the worksite:

In the course of the inspection, CER IOs also walked southbound along the RoW to the location of a culvert that had been installed a few years ago by the company to address drainage and depth of cover issues. CER IOs were informed that the area directly on top of the culvert is not cultivated. There was also no evidence of equipment tracks or rutting observed directly over the culvert. CER IOs also accompanied company representatives while performing a depth of cover (DoC) survey (for demonstration purposes only) using an electronic locator along the RoW between the worksite and the culvert. The measurement taken as a sample confirmed adequate DoC. The company representatives indicated that they connect at the station on Hwy 703 in order to get a signal for locating. 

Compliance tool used: No compliance tool used

Observation 2 - NNC #1 - Edge of Right-of-Way Marker Posts

Date & time of visit: 2022-10-12 08:30

Discipline: Damage Prevention

Categories:

Facility:

Observations:

CER IOs observed pipeline identification signage present on both sides of the roadway (85 N) where the pipeline crosses. The metallic signs were yellow and displayed the name of Manitoba Hydro in black print. One pipeline right-of-way (RoW) marker post was also present on the South side of the roadway a few metres away going East. These were made of yellow plastic with a label displaying the name of Centra Gas and a phone number that was different than the metallic Manitoba Hydro pipeline identification signs.

CER IOs were informed that signage maintenance was conducted during annual leak surveys where the company would look for damaged or missing signage, but added that RoW marker posts are not in focus for the annual leak surveys. While the RoW marker posts are not a legislated requirement, CER IOs explained that if pipeline companies have installed RoW marker posts, that they are required to ensure they are maintained accordingly. CER IOs further noted that in this case, RoW marker posts and pipeline identification signs with different emergency contact information can also cause confusion and delays in the case of an emergency. 

As an alternative, CER IOs also explained that should it be determined by the company that RoW marker posts no longer serve their intended purpose, that the company has the flexibility to vary its applicable procedures accordingly. 

CER IOs therefore determined that the company did not demonstrate that it adequately monitored its pipeline RoW to ensure that RoW marker posts were maintained in accordance with the company's procedures. A notice of non-compliance pursuant to OPR Section 39 was issued.
 

Compliance tool used: Notice of Non-compliance (NNC)

Regulatory requirement:

Relevant section(s):

Company action required:

The company is required to:

Due date: 2023-01-31

Date closed: 2023-05-04
Note: the date closed is the date that the inspector completed their review of the company corrective actions for adequacy and determined that no further actions are required.

Reason closed: Requirement met

Compliance achieved: Yes

Observation 3 - NNC #2 - Mechanical Equipment Crossing OPR s. 6.5(1)(e)

Date & time of visit: 2022-10-12 10:00

Discipline: Damage Prevention

Categories:

Facility:

Observations:

CER IOs observed the trackhoe cross the pipeline a number of times to excavate a trench on both sides. When IOs asked about any weight or load-bearing assessment conducted by the company to determine if the mechanical equipment used at the worksite was safe to cross, the company indicated that a vehicle/loading assessment was done in 2012 on the Minell Pipeline which determined that highway vehicles and farm equipment were safe to cross where the pipeline has 600 mm of cover of more. The company added that the areas of insufficient cover (less than 600 mm as per the 2012 assessment) for the Minell remediation site were therefore staked to prevent equipment crossing by the contractor. However, IOs determined that using the 2012 assessment was not sufficient to demonstrate that the company has evaluated and managed the risks posed by the crossing of the mechanical equipment used a the remediation site over the Minell Pipeline. Inadequate evaluation of risks is in non-compliance with section 6.5(1)(e) of the Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPRs) - a notice of non-compliance was therefore issued.

 

Compliance tool used: Notice of Non-compliance (NNC)

Regulatory requirement:

Relevant section(s):

Company action required:

The company is required to:

Due date: 2023-01-31

Date closed: 2023-05-04
Note: the date closed is the date that the inspector completed their review of the company corrective actions for adequacy and determined that no further actions are required.

Reason closed: Requirement met

Compliance achieved: Yes

Observation 4 - NNC #3 - Inadequate Procedures for Managing Discovery of/Damage to Unknown Facility

Date & time of visit: 2022-10-14 09:00

Discipline: Damage Prevention

Categories:

Facility:

Observations:

Upon review of Manitoba Hydro's safe excavation procedures, CER IOs noted that there were no procedure or process that documents what to do when abandoned, unidentified or foreign infrastructure is found during a ground disturbance activity. Manitoba Hydro confirmed that they do not have a written procedure or process for when foreign abandoned or unidentified infrastructure are exposed during a ground disturbance activity.

Section 27 of the OPR requires the company to develop, regularly review and update operation and maintenance manuals that provide information and procedures to promote safety, environmental protection and efficiency in the operation of the pipeline.
 
In addition, OPR Section 6.5 (1)(t) requires the company to establish and implement a process for developing contingency plans for abnormal events that may occur during construction, operation, maintenance, abandonment or emergency situations.

Compliance tool used: Notice of Non-compliance (NNC)

Regulatory requirement:

Relevant section(s):

Company action required:

The company is required to develop a corrective and preventive action (CAPA) plan that describes how it plans to address the deficiencies noted in this observation upon discovering foreign buried infrastructure during a ground disturbance activity. This CAPA plan must include a schedule for the implementation of these corrective and preventive actions.

Due date: 2023-01-31

Date closed: 2023-05-04
Note: the date closed is the date that the inspector completed their review of the company corrective actions for adequacy and determined that no further actions are required.

Reason closed: Requirement met

Compliance achieved: Yes

Observation 5 - NNC#4 - Contractor Oversight - Field Supervision of Labourers in the Trench

Date & time of visit: 2022-10-12 07:00

Discipline: Damage Prevention

Categories:

Facility:

Observations:

The information provided by the company in response to the Field IR issued on 12 October 2022 confirmed that direct contractor oversight must be provided by the safety watch and that they are required to address unsafe acts or work practices.

CER IOs observed that the labourers often stood in the trench for extended periods with their backs to the operator while the machine was in motion in the trench. The CER IOs discussed these actions with the Manitoba Hydro safety watch and requested they address the unsafe actions. The CER IOs also discussed the issue with the foreman/operator and the labourers. 

CER IOs determined that Manitoba Hydro failed to identify unsafe acts of the labourers in the the trench who did not maintain line of sight contact with the equipment operator and failed to supervise them to ensure that they performed their duties in a manner that was safe, pursuant to 6.5(1)(k) of the Onshore Pipeline Regulations.


Paragraph 6.5(1)(k) of the OPR requires Manitoba Hydro to implement a process for verifying that employees and other persons working with or on behalf of Manitoba Hydro are trained and competent and for supervising them to ensure that they perform their duties in a manner that is safe. This provision requires two distinct process requirements. One being a process for verifying that employees and other persons working with or on behalf of the company are trained and competent and the other being a process for supervising them while working.
 

Compliance tool used: Notice of Non-compliance (NNC)

Regulatory requirement:

Relevant section(s):

Company action required:

The company is required to develop a corrective and preventive action (CAPA) plan that describes how it plans to address the deficiencies noted in this observation to ensure that unsafe work practices by employees and other persons working with or on behalf of the company on the field are corrected immediately. This CAPA plan must include a schedule for the implementation of these corrective and preventive actions.

Due date: 2023-01-31

Date closed: 2023-05-04
Note: the date closed is the date that the inspector completed their review of the company corrective actions for adequacy and determined that no further actions are required.

Reason closed: Requirement met

Compliance achieved: Yes

Observation 6 - NNC#5 - Tailgate Meeting and Emergency Response Plan (ERP)

Date & time of visit: 2022-10-12 08:00

Discipline: Damage Prevention

Categories:

Facility:

Observations:

CER IOs attended the tailgate meeting at the site the morning of 12 October 2022 and noted that the meeting and review of site hazards was very brief and failed to identify several hazards. The work location was rural and CER IOs identified that the nearest medical centre was approximately 45 minutes away in Moosomin, (SK). CER IOs also noted that cellular coverage in the area was spotty.

Because of the rural location of the Minell Pipeline, maintenance activities are almost always a significant distance from medical facilities, which is a hazard worthy of note. Site-specific hazards shall be considered and site-specific emergency response plans made for maintenance activities and reviewed with employees and other persons working with or on behalf of the company.

CER IOs determined that Manitoba Hydro failed to supervise persons working with or on behalf of the company to ensure that they performed their duties in a manner that was safe, pursuant to 6.5(1)(k) of the Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR). CER IOs also determined that Manitoba Hydro failed to establish a process that ensures that employees and other people working with or on behalf of the company so that each person is aware of the activities of others and has the information that will enable them to perform their duties in a manner that is safe as per OPR s.6.5(1)(q). And that Manitoba Hydro failed to develop, implement and maintain an emergency management program that anticipates, prevents, manages and mitigates conditions during an emergency that could adversely affect property, the environment or the safety of workers or the public as per OPR s.32(1), and Manitoba Hydro failed to  take all reasonable steps to inform all persons who may be associated with an emergency response activity on the pipeline of the practices and procedures to be followed and make available to them the relevant information that is consistent with that which is specified in the emergency procedures manual as per OPR s.34.

6.5(1) A company shall, as part of its management system and the programs referred to in section 55,
32 (1) A company shall develop, implement and maintain an emergency management program that anticipates, prevents, manages and mitigates conditions during an emergency that could adversely affect property, the environment or the safety of workers or the public.

34 A company shall take all reasonable steps to inform all persons who may be associated with an emergency response activity on the pipeline of the practices and procedures to be followed and make available to them the relevant information that is consistent with that which is specified in the emergency procedures manual.

Compliance tool used: Notice of Non-compliance (NNC)

Regulatory requirement:

Relevant section(s):

Company action required:

The company is required to develop a corrective and preventive action (CAPA) plan that describes how it plans to address the deficiencies noted in this observation to ensure that an adequate site-specific emergency response plan is made for maintenance activities and available to employees and persons working with or on behalf of the company while on the field. This CAPA plan must include a schedule for the implementation of these corrective and preventive actions.
 

Due date: 2023-01-31

Date closed: 2023-05-02
Note: the date closed is the date that the inspector completed their review of the company corrective actions for adequacy and determined that no further actions are required.

Reason closed: Requirement met

Compliance achieved: Yes

Observations (company follow-up required)

Identified non-compliances to company plans or procedures are non-compliances either to:

- the condition of an authorization document that requires the implementation of that plan or procedure; or

- the relevant section of the regulations that requires implementation of that plan or procedure including those sections that require implementation of plans or procedures as a part of a Program

Rapport d’activité de vérification de la conformité : CV2223-272 - Minell Pipeline Limited

Aperçu

Type d’activité de conformité : Inspection sur le terrain

No d’activité : CV2223-272
Début de l’activité : 2022-10-03
Fin de l’activité : 2022-10-07

Équipe :

Société réglementée : Minell Pipeline Limited

Exploitant : Manitoba Hydro

Province(s) / Territoire(s) :

Discipline(s) :

Événements connexes :

Justification et portée :

Faire un suivi des réponses de la société aux demandes de renseignements (CV2122-331) au sujet de sa procédure d’excavation sécuritaire, y compris expliquer le processus qui s’applique aux installations inconnues ou abandonnées une fois qu’elles sont découvertes et clarifier le processus de demande de localisation après incident. 

Outil(s) de conformité employé(s) :

Détails de l’installation

Installations :

Exigences réglementaires :

Exigences réglementaires s’appliquant à cette activité :

Observations (aucun suivi requis)

Observation 1 - Observations générales – Travaux d’assainissement du gazoduc Minell (abaissement)

Date et heure de la visite : 2022-10-12 08:30

Discipline : Prévention des dommages

Catégories :

Installation :

Observations :

Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont accompagné les représentants de Manitoba Hydro (Minell) pour procéder à une inspection sur le terrain des travaux d’assainissement (abaissement) du pipeline de gaz naturel Minell (« gazoduc Minell ») exécutés par l’entrepreneur de la société. Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont observé ce qui suit sur le chantier :

Au cours de l’inspection, les inspecteurs de la Régie ont aussi marché en direction sud le long de l’emprise jusqu’à l’emplacement d’un ponceau qui avait été aménagé il y a quelques années par la société pour régler les problèmes de drainage et d’épaisseur de couverture. Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont été informés que la zone directement au-dessus du ponceau n’est pas cultivée. Il n’y avait aucune trace ni ornière laissées par l’équipement directement au-dessus du ponceau. Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont également accompagné les représentants de la société pendant qu’ils vérifiaient l’épaisseur de couverture (à des fins de démonstration seulement) à l’aide d’un localisateur électronique le long de l’emprise entre le chantier et le ponceau. La mesure prise à titre d’exemple a confirmé que l’épaisseur de couverture était adéquate. Les représentants de la société ont indiqué qu’ils se connectent à la station sur la route 703 afin d’obtenir un signal aux fins de localisation. 

Outil de conformité employé : Aucun outil de conformité employé

Observation 2 - ANC no 1 – Jalons marquant la limite de l’emprise

Date et heure de la visite : 2022-10-12 08:30

Discipline : Prévention des dommages

Catégories :

Installation :

Observations :

Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont observé que la signalisation d’usage était en place des deux côtés de la route (85 N) à l’endroit du croisement avec le pipeline. Les panneaux de signalisation métalliques étaient jaunes et portaient le nom de Manitoba Hydro en caractères noirs. Un jalon marquant l’emprise pipelinière était également présent du côté sud de la route, à quelques mètres vers l’est. Ce jalon était en plastique jaune et arborait le nom de Centra Gas et un numéro de téléphone qui différait de celui figurant sur les panneaux d’identification métalliques de Manitoba Hydro.

Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont été informés que des travaux d’entretien de la signalisation ont été réalisés pendant les relevés annuels des fuites afin de repérer les panneaux endommagés ou manquants; il a cependant été précisé que les jalons de l’emprise ne sont pas une priorité lors des relevés annuels des fuites. Bien que les jalons de l’emprise ne soient pas une exigence prévue par la loi, les inspecteurs de la Régie ont expliqué que si les sociétés pipelinières ont installé des jalons sur l’emprise, il leur incombe de s’assurer qu’ils sont entretenus en conséquence. Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont aussi fait remarquer que dans ce cas, les jalons marquant l’emprise et les panneaux d’identification du pipeline comportant des coordonnées différentes en cas d’urgence peuvent aussi causer de la confusion et des retards en cas d’urgence. 

À titre de solution de rechange, les inspecteurs de la Régie ont aussi expliqué que si la société détermine que les jalons marquant l’emprise ne servent plus aux fins prévues, elle a la possibilité de modifier ses marches à suivre applicables en conséquence. 

Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont donc déterminé que la société n’avait pas démontré qu’elle surveillait adéquatement son emprise pipelinière pour s’assurer que les jalons marquant l’emprise étaient entretenus conformément à ses marches à suivre. Un avis de non-conformité a été délivré, en vertu de l’article 39 du Règlement de la Régie canadienne de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres (« RPT »).
 

Outil de conformité employé : Avis de non-conformité (ANC)

Exigence réglementaire :

Article(s) pertinent(s) :

Mesure requise de la société :

La société doit :

Échéance : 2023-01-31

Date de fermeture : 2023-05-04
Note : La « date de fermeture » correspond à la date à laquelle l’inspecteur de l’Office a déterminé que les mesures correctives prises par la société étaient adéquates et qu’aucune autre mesure n’était nécessaire.

Motif de la fermeture : Renvoyé à l’application

Conformité atteinte : Oui

Observation 3 - ANC no 2 – Franchissement par de l’équipement mécanique – alinéa 6.5(1)e) du RPT

Date et heure de la visite : 2022-10-12 10:00

Discipline : Prévention des dommages

Catégories :

Installation :

Observations :

Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont observé l’excavateur à chenilles franchir le pipeline à plusieurs reprises pour excaver une tranchée des deux côtés. Lorsque les inspecteurs ont posé des questions sur une évaluation du poids ou de la charge effectuée par la société pour déterminer si l’équipement mécanique utilisé sur le chantier pouvait franchir le pipeline sans danger, la société a indiqué qu’une évaluation des véhicules et du chargement a été effectuée en 2012 sur le gazoduc Minell, ce qui a permis de déterminer que les véhicules routiers et l’équipement agricole pouvaient franchir le pipeline en toute sécurité lorsque l’épaisseur de couverture au-dessus du pipeline est d’au moins 600 mm. La société a ajouté que les sections du gazoduc Minell visées par les travaux d’assainissement où l’épaisseur de couverture n’était pas suffisante (moins de 600 mm selon l’évaluation de 2012) ont été jalonnées pour aviser l’entrepreneur qu’il était interdit de franchir le pipeline avec de l’équipement à ces endroits. Cependant, les inspecteurs ont déterminé que l’évaluation de 2012 n’était pas suffisante pour démontrer que la société avait évalué et géré les risques posés par le franchissement du gazoduc Minell avec l’équipement mécanique utilisé au site d’assainissement. Une évaluation inadéquate des risques ne respecte pas l’alinéa 6.5(1)e) du RPT. Un avis de non-conformité a donc été délivré.

 

Outil de conformité employé : Avis de non-conformité (ANC)

Exigence réglementaire :

Article(s) pertinent(s) :

Mesure requise de la société :

La société doit :

Échéance : 2023-01-31

Date de fermeture : 2023-05-04
Note : La « date de fermeture » correspond à la date à laquelle l’inspecteur de l’Office a déterminé que les mesures correctives prises par la société étaient adéquates et qu’aucune autre mesure n’était nécessaire.

Motif de la fermeture : Renvoyé à l’application

Conformité atteinte : Oui

Observation 4 - ANC no 3 – Marches à suivre inadéquates pour gérer la découverte d’une installation inconnue ou les dommages à une telle installation

Date et heure de la visite : 2022-10-14 09:00

Discipline : Prévention des dommages

Catégories :

Installation :

Observations :

Après examen des méthodes d’excavation sécuritaires de Manitoba Hydro, les inspecteurs de la Régie ont constaté qu’il n’y avait pas de marche à suivre ni de processus pour documenter ce qu’il faut faire lorsqu’une infrastructure abandonnée, non identifiée ou inconnue est découverte pendant une activité de remuement du sol. Manitoba Hydro a confirmé qu’elle n’a pas de marche à suivre ni de processus écrit pour les infrastructures abandonnées ou non répertoriées inconnues qui sont découvertes pendant une activité de remuement du sol.

L’article 27 du RPT exige que la société établisse, révise régulièrement et mette à jour les manuels d’exploitation et d’entretien qui contiennent des renseignements et exposent des méthodes pour promouvoir la sécurité, la protection de l’environnement et le rendement quant à l’exploitation du pipeline.
 
De plus, l’alinéa 6.5(1)t) du RPT exige de la société qu’elle établisse et mette en œuvre un processus permettant d’élaborer des plans d’urgence pour se préparer aux événements anormaux pouvant se produire pendant les activités de construction, d’exploitation, d’entretien, de cessation d’exploitation ou lors de situations d’urgence.

Outil de conformité employé : Avis de non-conformité (ANC)

Exigence réglementaire :

Article(s) pertinent(s) :

Mesure requise de la société :

La société doit élaborer un plan de mesures correctives et préventives (« PMCP ») qui décrit comment elle prévoit corriger les lacunes relevées dans cette observation lorsqu’elle découvre une infrastructure enfouie inconnue pendant une activité de remuement du sol. Le PMCP doit inclure un calendrier de mise en œuvre des mesures correctives et préventives.

Échéance : 2023-01-31

Date de fermeture : 2023-05-04
Note : La « date de fermeture » correspond à la date à laquelle l’inspecteur de l’Office a déterminé que les mesures correctives prises par la société étaient adéquates et qu’aucune autre mesure n’était nécessaire.

Motif de la fermeture : Renvoyé à l’application

Conformité atteinte : Oui

Observation 5 - ANC no 4 – Surveillance des entrepreneurs – Supervision sur le terrain des travailleurs dans la tranchée

Date et heure de la visite : 2022-10-12 07:00

Discipline : Prévention des dommages

Catégories :

Installation :

Observations :

Les renseignements fournis par la société en réponse à la DR sur le terrain du 12 octobre 2022 ont confirmé que la surveillance directe des entrepreneurs doit être assurée par le surveillant de la sécurité et qu’il est tenu d’intervenir en cas d’actes ou de pratiques de travail non sécuritaires.

Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont observé que les travailleurs se tenaient souvent debout dans la tranchée pendant de longues périodes, dos à l’opérateur, alors que la machine était en mouvement dans la tranchée. Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont discuté de ces observations avec le surveillant de la sécurité de Manitoba Hydro et lui ont demandé d’intervenir lorsqu’il observe des comportements qui vont à l’encontre des principes de sécurité. Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont également discuté de la question avec le contremaître/l’opérateur et les travailleurs. 

Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont déterminé que Manitoba Hydro n’a pas repéré certains actes non sécuritaires commis par les travailleurs dans la tranchée qui n’ont pas maintenu le contact visuel avec l’opérateur de l’équipement et ne les a pas surveillés adéquatement pour s’assurer qu’ils s’acquittent de leurs tâches en toute sécurité, conformément à l’alinéa 6.5(1)k) du RPT.


Selon l’alinéa 6.5(1)k) du RPT, Manitoba Hydro est tenue de mettre en œuvre un processus pour s’assurer que les employés et toute autre personne travaillant en collaboration avec elle ou pour son compte sont formés et compétents et pour les superviser afin qu’ils puissent s’acquitter de leurs tâches en toute sécurité. Cette disposition exige deux processus distincts : un pour vérifier que les employés et toute autre personne travaillant en collaboration avec la société ou pour le compte de celle-ci ont été formés et ont acquis les compétences voulues et l’autre, pour les superviser pendant qu’ils s’acquittent de leurs tâches.
 

Outil de conformité employé : Avis de non-conformité (ANC)

Exigence réglementaire :

Article(s) pertinent(s) :

Mesure requise de la société :

La société doit élaborer un plan de mesures correctives et préventives (« PMCP ») décrivant la façon dont elle prévoit corriger les lacunes relevées dans la présente observation afin de s’assurer que les pratiques de travail non sécuritaires des employés et des autres personnes travaillant avec elle ou pour son compte sur le terrain sont corrigées immédiatement. Le PMCP doit inclure un calendrier de mise en œuvre des mesures correctives et préventives.

Échéance : 2023-01-31

Date de fermeture : 2023-05-04
Note : La « date de fermeture » correspond à la date à laquelle l’inspecteur de l’Office a déterminé que les mesures correctives prises par la société étaient adéquates et qu’aucune autre mesure n’était nécessaire.

Motif de la fermeture : Renvoyé à l’application

Conformité atteinte : Oui

Observation 6 - ANC no 5 – Réunion informelle sur la sécurité et plan d’intervention d’urgence (« PIU »)

Date et heure de la visite : 2022-10-12 08:00

Discipline : Prévention des dommages

Catégories :

Installation :

Observations :

Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont assisté à la réunion informelle sur la sécurité tenue sur le site le matin du 12 octobre 2022 et ont constaté que la réunion et l’examen des dangers relatifs au site étaient très brefs et n’avaient pas permis de relever tous les dangers. Le lieu de travail se trouvait en région rurale et les inspecteurs de la Régie ont indiqué que le centre médical le plus proche se trouvait à environ 45 minutes de Moosomin, en Saskatchewan. Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont aussi fait remarquer que la couverture cellulaire dans la région était inégale.

Le gazoduc Minell étant situé en région rurale, les activités d’entretien ont presque toujours lieu assez loin des installations médicales, ce qui constitue un danger digne de mention. Les dangers propres au site doivent être pris en considération et des plans d’intervention d’urgence propres au site doivent être élaborés pour les activités d’entretien et examinés avec les employés et les autres personnes travaillant en collaboration avec la société ou pour le compte de celle-ci.

Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont déterminé que Manitoba Hydro n’avait pas supervisé les personnes travaillant en collaboration avec elle ou pour son compte afin de s’assurer qu’elles s’acquittent de leurs tâches en toute sécurité, conformément à l’alinéa 6.5(1)k) du RPT. Les inspecteurs de la Régie ont également conclu que Manitoba Hydro a omis d’établir un processus pour s’assurer que les employés et toute autre personne travaillant en collaboration avec elle ou pour le compte de celle-ci sont au courant des activités des autres et disposent des renseignements leur permettant de s’acquitter de leurs tâches en toute sécurité, conformément à l’alinéa 6.5(1)q) du RPT. En outre, Manitoba Hydro a omis d’établir, de mettre en œuvre et de maintenir un programme de gestion des situations d’urgence qui permet de prévoir, de prévenir, de gérer et d’atténuer les conditions pouvant avoir une incidence négative sur les biens, l’environnement ou la sécurité des travailleurs ou du public, en présence d’une situation d’urgence, conformément au paragraphe 32(1) du RPT. Enfin, Manitoba Hydro n’a pas pris toutes les mesures raisonnables pour informer toutes les personnes qui peuvent être associées à une activité d’intervention en cas d’urgence sur le pipeline des pratiques et procédures en vigueur, et mettre à leur disposition des renseignements conformes à ceux précisés dans le manuel des mesures d’urgence, conformément à l’article 34 du RPT.

6.5(1) La compagnie est tenue, dans le cadre de son système de gestion et des programmes visés à l’article 55 :
32(1) La compagnie établit, met en œuvre et maintient un programme de gestion des situations d’urgence qui permet de prévoir, de prévenir, de gérer et d’atténuer les conditions pouvant avoir une incidence négative sur les biens, l’environnement ou la sécurité des travailleurs ou du public, en présence d’une situation d’urgence.

34 La compagnie doit prendre toutes les mesures raisonnables pour informer toutes les personnes qui peuvent être associées à une activité d’intervention en cas d’urgence sur le pipeline des pratiques et procédures en vigueur, et mettre à leur disposition des renseignements conformes à ceux précisés dans le manuel des mesures d’urgence.

Outil de conformité employé : Avis de non-conformité (ANC)

Exigence réglementaire :

Article(s) pertinent(s) :

Mesure requise de la société :

La société est tenue d’élaborer un plan de mesures correctives et préventives (« PMCP ») qui décrit la façon dont elle prévoit corriger les lacunes relevées dans la présente observation pour s’assurer qu’un plan d’intervention d’urgence propre au site adéquat est élaboré pour les activités d’entretien et mis à la disposition des employés et des personnes travaillant en collaboration avec elle ou pour son compte sur le terrain. Le PMCP doit inclure un calendrier de mise en œuvre des mesures correctives et préventives.
 

Échéance : 2023-01-31

Date de fermeture : 2023-05-02
Note : La « date de fermeture » correspond à la date à laquelle l’inspecteur de l’Office a déterminé que les mesures correctives prises par la société étaient adéquates et qu’aucune autre mesure n’était nécessaire.

Motif de la fermeture : Renvoyé à l’application

Conformité atteinte : Oui

Observations (suivi requis auprès de la société)

Les situations de non-conformité se rattachant aux plans ou procédures de la société constituent un non-respect :

- de la condition d’une autorisation exigeant la mise en œuvre du plan ou de la procédure; ou

- de l’article pertinent de la réglementation, qui exige la mise en œuvre du plan ou de la procédure, y compris les articles exigeant la mise en œuvre des plans ou procédures dans le cadre d’un programme.